Skip breadcrumb navigation Skip Navigation Links Home > About SHM > Awards of Excellence

Award of Excellence

SHM’s Awards of Excellence Program honors its members whose exemplary contributions to the hospital medicine movement deserve acknowledgement and respect. The nominations are now closed.

In honor of their achievements, recipients of each Award of Excellence receive:

  • An all-expense paid trip to SHM’s Annual Meeting*
  • Recognition on stage at SHM’s Annual Meeting
  • Acknowledgement in The Hospitalist, SHM’s monthly news magazine and on
  • Recognition in press releases to local and state outlets

*All-expense paid trip includes complimentary meeting registration (excludes pre-course registration), and up to $600 reimbursement for hotel (one night) airfare and transportation to and from the meeting venue.

**Recipients of the Excellence in Teamwork in Quality Improvement Award receive recognition at Annual Meeting, complimentary registration for all team members, and travel reimbursement for team members up to $3,000

Recognize exceptional achievements in hospital medicine. SHM is now accepting Awards of Excellence Nominations.

Nominate yourself or a colleague for one in one of the following awards categories:

Any current SHM member other than board members, officers, or SHM awards committee members is eligible to apply.

Please note: All nominees must be SHM members. Nominees may be self-nominated. Please review the criteria for each award as some awards have further eligibility standards especially the Teamwork Award.

All submissions for the Awards of Excellence in Hospital Medicine require the following:

  • Nominee's name, title, organization, phone number and email address (if this is not a self-nomination, include your relationship to the nominee)
  • A letter consisting of at least one paragraph, not to exceed one page, either self-nomination or from another party addressing the specific criteria, which are the basis for evaluation for the award of the nominee being considered

SHM would like to congratulate all the winners of the Awards of Excellence. We are thrilled to celebrate the achievements of the many hospitalists who are moving the specialty forward and demonstrating how all hospitalists can provide exceptional care for hospitalized patients.

Clinical Excellence

Barbara Slawski

Excellence in Teaching

Steven Cohn

Outstanding Service in Hospital Medicine

Jeffrey Greenwald

Excellence in Research

Jeffrey Barsuk

Excellence in Hospital Medicine for

Michael McFall

Excellence in Humanitarian Services

Jonathan Crocker

Excellence in Teamwork in Quality Improvement

Johnston Memorial

View all past winners