Skip breadcrumb navigation Skip Navigation Links Home > Advocacy > Public Policy Committee

Society of Hospital Medicine Public Policy Committee

The Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM) and its Public Policy Committee work with the government to improve the care of hospitalized patients by making policy statements and position recommendations to the SHM Board. The committee also recommends potential issues for study and review as well as processes for developing public policy.

2016-2017 Public Policy Committee

Ronald Greeno, MD, FCCP, MHM
Los Angeles, California

Moises Auron, MD, FAAP, FACP, SFHM
Cleveland Clinic – Ohio
Beechwood, Ohio

John Biebelhausen, MD, MBA
Virginia Mason Medical Center
Seattle, Washington

Tim Bode, MD
Memorial Hospital
Jacksonville, Florida

Lauren Doctoroff, MD, FHM
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Boston, Massachusetts

Suparna Dutta, MD
Rush University Medical Center
Riverside, Illinois

Bradley Flansbaum, DO, MPH, MHM
Lenox Hill Hospital
New York, New York

Scott Gottlieb, MD
American Enterprise Institute and NYU School of Medicine
New York, New York

Rick Hilger, MD, SFHM
Regions Hospital
Saint Paul, Minnesota

Melinda Johnson, MD, FHM
University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
Iowa City, Iowa

Megan Knight, PA
Medical College of Wisconsin
West Allis, Wisconsin

Ajay Kumar, MD
Hartford Hospital
Hartford, Connecticut

Joshua Lenchus, DO, RPh, FACP, SFHM
University of Miami
Miami, Florida

Atashi Mandal, MD
Huntingdon Beach, California

Mark Murray, MD, SFHM
IPC – The Hospitalist Company
Houston, TX

Dahlia Rizk, DO, MPH, FHM
Mt Sinai Beth Israel Medical Center
New York, New York

Kendall Rogers, MD, SFHM
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, New Mexico

Ann Sheehy, MD, MS
University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics
Madison, Wisconsin

Kerry Weiner, MD
IPC – The Hospitalist Company
North Hollywood, California

Joanne Zhu, MD, MS
Kennetstone Hospital
Mableton, Georgia

Joshua Boswell, JD
Staff Liaison
Director of Government Relations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

For more information about all of SHM's committees, visit