Skip to content

Welcome to Society of Hospital Medicine

Your Browser Is No Longer Supported. Please upgrade your browser from Internet Explorer 10 to Internet Explorer 11 or higher

Maintenance of Certification for Hospitalists

Focused Practice in Hospital Medicine (FPHM)

Recertify with the program that best reflects your day-to-day practice.

Internal medicine is a broad spectrum covering many different practice areas; The Focused Practice in Hospital Medicine (FPHM) exam is for hospitalists who primarily practice in an inpatient setting. The ABIM offers the FPHM designation for their Board Cerified internists recognizing the unique and specialized knowledge, skills and attitudes of hospitalists in their practice and care of patients. 

Steps toward FPHM certification: 

If you are already Board Certified in Internal Medicine you can choose to enter the FPHM program, achieve your designation and maintain your certification by fulfilling the following requirements:

  • Complete a self-attestation and receive an SHO attestation of your hospital practice experience
  • Pass a Focused Practice in Hospital Medicine Maintenance of Recertification (MOC) Exam
  • Earn MOC Self-Assessment points
  • Maintain an unrestricted license

Similar to the FPHM, the American Board of Pediatrics will offer the first certifying examination in Pediatric Hospital Medicine in the fall of 2019. 

Specific requirements vary between ABIM, ABFM and ABP for eligibility, program entry and maintaining FPHM certification.

Review the ABIM, ABFM and ABP websites for complete details.

Note: If you choose to earn the FPHM designation, you will no longer be required to take the Internal Medicine MOC exam.

Exam Prep

Discover Spark Self-Assessmentthe only study tool you need to ace the FPHM exam, offering up to 112.5 MOC points.