Skip to content

Welcome to Society of Hospital Medicine

Your Browser Is No Longer Supported. Please upgrade your browser from Internet Explorer 10 to Internet Explorer 11 or higher

SHM Board Members

SHM Board of Directors nominations are now open.

SHM is seeking nominations for the Board of Directors. Nominate yourself or a colleague to serve a three-year term beginning in May 2021 here. (Nominations are reserved for members only.)

For any questions, please contact us at

Current Officers

Danielle Scheurer, MD, MSCR, SFHM
Charleston, South Carolina


Jerome C. Siy, MD, SFHM
St. Paul, Minnesota


Rachel Thompson, MD, MPH, SFHM
Seattle, Washington


Kris Rehm, MD, SFHM
Nashville, Tennessee


Immediate Past President
Christopher Frost, MD, SFHM
Nashville, Tennessee

Board of Directors

Tracy E. Cardin, FHM, SFHM
Chicago, Illinois


Steven B. Deitelzweig, MD, MMM, SFHM
New Orleans, Louisiana


Bryce Gartland, MD, SFHM
Atlanta, Georgia


Flora Kisuule, MD, MPH, SFHM
Baltimore, Maryland


Mark W. Shen, MD, SFHM
Austin, Texas


Darlene Tad-y, MD, SFHM
Aurora, Colorado


Chad T. Whelan, MD, MHSA, SFHM
Tucson, Arizona