Skip to content

Welcome to Society of Hospital Medicine

Your Browser Is No Longer Supported. Please upgrade your browser from Internet Explorer 10 to Internet Explorer 11 or higher

SHM's Response to Racism in the U.S. — Learn More

SHM’s Awards of Excellence Winners

2020 Winners of SHM's Awards of Excellence

Join the ranks of these esteemed hospital medicine leaders and apply for one of SHM’s Awards of Excellence. See 2020's winners.

Clinical Leadership for Physicians 

Karen Smith, MD, MEd, SFHM


Excellence in Teaching

Kathleen M. Finn, MD, M.Phil, SFHM
Juan Nicolas Lessing, MD


Outstanding Service in Hospital Medicine

Efren Manjarrez, MD, SFHM, FACP

Excellence in

Shoshana J. Herzig, MD, MPH


Clinical Leadership for

Ilaria Gadalla, DMSc, PA-C


Leadership for Practice Manager

Douglas G. Philpot, MHA, MBA, MHR, FACHE

Excellence in Humanitarian Services

Khaalisha Ajala, MD, MBA


Excellence in Diversity Leadership

Kimberly D. Manning, MD, FACP, FAAP


Excellence in Teamwork in Quality Improvement

Michigan Hospital Medicine Safety Consortium