Skip to content

Welcome to Society of Hospital Medicine

Your Browser Is No Longer Supported. Please upgrade your browser from Internet Explorer 10 to Internet Explorer 11 or higher

The Society of Hospital Medicine Honors Trevor Coons, MHA, FACHE, With 2023 Award of Excellence in Management of Hospital Medicine

April 28, 2023

About SHM

Representing the fastest-growing specialty in modern healthcare, the Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM) is the leading medical society for hospitalists and their patients.

Learn More

Mr. Coons’ Expertise in Professional and Civic Roles Benefits Hospital Operations and Public Health

The Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM) recently announced the recipients of its 2023 Awards of Excellence, honoring hospitalists who are advancing hospital medicine through innovation, education, and advocacy. Trevor Coons, MHA, FACHE, is this year’s recipient in the “Excellence in Management of Hospital Management” category.

“Hospital medicine continues to grow at a rapid pace, and we need leaders and innovators in the field to ensure that its future remains bright for years to come,” explains Eric E. Howell, MD, MHM, Chief Executive Officer of the Society of Hospital Medicine. “This year’s Awards of Excellence recipients are among those who have risen to the challenge and contributed not only to the advancement of hospital medicine, but to the overall state of healthcare nationwide.”

Mr. Coons is an Assistant Professor of Health Care Administration at Mayo Clinic’s College of Medicine and Science. He has over 10 years of practice leadership experience with Mayo Clinic. For the last five years, he has served as Operations Manager for the division of Hospital Internal Medicine in Rochester, Minnesota, as well as supporting Mayo Clinic’s mid-west community division with its 17 hospital internal medicine practices.

In addition to his professional roles, Mr. Coons has volunteered in numerous civic roles, including serving on a rural Ambulance Commission and a Chamber of Commerce Board. He is presently a member of the Minnesota Governor's Rural Health Advisory Committee and chairs the Olmsted County Public Health Services Advisory Board.

Within SHM, Mr. Coons serves as Chair for SHM’s Hospital Medicine Administrators Special Interest Group and is a contributing member of numerous professional committees and workgroups, including the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society, the Association of American Medical Colleges, and the Cochrane Policy Research Institute.

Awards of Excellence winners were recognized at SHM’s annual conference, SHM Converge, held from March 26-29, 2023, in Austin, TX. For more information on SHM’s Awards of Excellence, visit